Book Review~ How I taught my grandmother to read by Sudha Murty

How I taught my grandmother to read contains 25 stories which is based on Ms. Murty life’s experience, and those she heard from others, Basically book has good collection of short stories and semi autobiographical in nature which based on meaningful secrets of life.

The book language was so simple and easy to read. It would be the best recommendation for beginners. Author experience and stories are so interesting to caught reader’s attention.

The book stories were themed around morals and wisdom, it is enough to refresh our mind and encourage us to be optimistic in our tough time.

Book is the journey of author’s grandmother to become literate. Book talk about another good topic too like Girl child education, Savings money, Gender discrimination, Belief on yourself, family support, Be Honest, Do something for society, Give some freedom to your kids, etc.

The book come across some great personalities like Mr. Abdul Kalam, Mr. JRD Tata with whom Ms. Murthy shared cordial relationship.

Overall book is worth spending for, some its stories I will keep close to my heart forever. You can call this book a light read with heavy wisdom which is definitely rare combination to get.

My Rating~ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Note~ See the book at Amazon

How I taught my grandmother to read

Leave a comment